WIC News

Meeting of the DVGW-DWA Water Innovation Circle (WIC) – Water Research within the new BMBF framework programme FONA³

In the last WIC meeting before the summer break in Hennef, 28th of July 2015, the WIC members together with guests from science, utilities, water organizations and the German ministry for education and research reflected the conclusions of the last meeting with the German Minister for Education and Research Prof. Dr. Johanna Wanka during the fair “Water Berlin International” in March 2015. Additionally, the perspectives of a more practice-focused water research within the new framework programme FONA³ was discussed.

Photo: Dr. Friedrich Hetzel (DWA, Hennef), Prof. Dr. Thomas Grünebaum (Ruhrverband, Essen), Prof. Dr. Matthias Barjenbruch (TU Berlin), Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz Rosenwinkel (Leibniz Universität Hannover), Dr. Josef Klinger (TZW, Karlsruhe), Dr. Christoph Donner (RWW, Mülheim), Prof. Dr. Harald Horn (KIT and EBI Karlsruhe), Dr. Helmut Löwe (BMBF), Frank Gröschl (DVGW), Sabine Thaler (DWA, Hennef), Dr. Wolfgang K. Walter (DVGW), Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Günthert (Universität der Bundeswehr München), Prof. Dr. Mathias Ernst (TU Hamburg-Harburg), Dr. David Schwesig (IWW, Mülheim); (f.l.t.r.); Copyright: DWA 

DVGW and DWA hand over Research Memorandum to the German Minister for Education and Research Prof. Dr. Johanna Wanka

During the international fair “Water Berlin International” the president of the “German Association for Water, Wastewater and Waste DWA” Otto Schaaf and the vice-president of the “German Technical and Scientific Association for Gas and Water DVGW” Dr. Dirk Waider handed over the jointly developed Research Memorandum to the German Minister for Education and Research Prof. Dr. Johanna Wanka on 26th of March 2015. The DVGW-DWA Research Memorandum denominates the most important research areas in the German water sector for the coming years, i.e. “Substances”, “Systems” and “Technologies”. 

Photo: DVGW-vice-president Dr. Dirk Waider (l.) and DWA-president Otto Schaaf together with the German Minister for Education and Research Prof. Dr. Johanna Wanka; Photo: Tom Maelsa



DWA-DVGW Water Innovation Circle WIC Kick Off

During the first meeting of the DWA-DVGW Water Innovation Circle on 29th of January 2015, research needs and relevant research fields within the water sector were discussed. As an innovation and research platform the WIC is meant to act as a collection point for the applied research needs of the water sector. It will also facilitate the transfer of research results into the water sector.

Photo: Dr. Wolfgang K. Walter, DVGW Bonn, Dr. Gudrun Abbt-Braun, KIT and EBI Karlsruhe, Dr. Josef Klinger, CEO DVGW-TZW, Sabine Thaler, DWA Hennef, Dr. Friedrich Hetzel, DWA Hennef, Prof. Dr. Thomas Grünebaum, Ruhrverband Essen, Frank Gröschl, DVGW Bonn; f.l.t.r.; Copyright: DVGW, Uwe Hetzel

DVGW and DWA sign Memorandum of Understanding

The two leading water organizations in Germany, i.e. the “German Association for Water, Wastewater and Waste DWA” and the “German Technical and Scientific Association for Gas and Water DVGW” signed on 10th of December 2014 a Memorandum of Understanding focusing on the collaboration in the field of water research and development. On the basis of this MoU the jointly installed “Water Innovation Circle WIC” recently got operational. The WIC is a collection point for the applied research needs of the water sector but will also facilitate the transfer of research results into the water sector.

Photo: DVGW-CEO Prof. Dr. Gerald Linke, DVGW-President Dietmar Bückemeyer, DWA-President Otto Schaaf, DWA-CEO Johannes Lohaus (f.l.t.r.). Copyright: Stadtentwässerungsbetriebe Köln (StEB Köln)

 

 

In short

For the public benefit and in the interest of the whole water cycle the “German Association for Water, Wastewater and Waste DWA” and the “German Technical and Scientific Association for Gas and Water DVGW” pooled their knowledge and expertise in the field of research in the jointly installed “Water Innovation Circle”. Together, DVGW and DWA actually cover with its activities the whole water cycle. One of the key competences of DWA and DVGW is to constantly link stakeholders from science and research with practitioners. The focus is on engineering disciplines which in collaboration with other science fields create technical successful solutions.

For an impact-driven research the transfer of the achieved results and their implementation in e.g. technical applications is of crucial importance. The member structures of the two organizations gather all the stakeholders along the water cycle. An exchange between researchers on the one hand and suppliers, utilities, manufacturers, industry, funding bodies and administration on the other is ensured. With DWA’s and DVGW’s additional core competence in technical regulation and education an involvement of the water sector in research and the transfer of research results back into the water sector is guaranteed.

Background

The German water sector is constantly challenged by new developments, be it for instance climatic variations or demographic changes. These challenges generally affect the water cycle as a whole. In order to maintain the high level in the German water sector, consistent and forward-looking research and development is constantly needed. It ensures innovation and must be geared towards sustainability. Research and innovation are the foundations we already have to create today, so that we still dispose of clean water bodies and drinking water of the highest quality tomorrow. The DVGW-DWA Water Innovation Circle will be a crucial part in this.

Goals

The WIC is a collection point for the applied research needs of the water sector but will also facilitate the transfer of research results into the water sector. The three main goals of the WIC are:

  • Identification, definition and structuring of research and innovation necessities in the water sector,
  • Support and acceleration of research transfer into the water sector,
  • Network platform and inclusion of all relevant stakeholders and actors of the water sector.

Download

Contact

DWA German Association for Water, Wastewater and Waste
DWA Deutsche Vereinigung für Wasserwirtschaft, Abwasser und Abfall e.V.
contact: Sabine Thaler
thaler[@]dwa.de
www.dwa.de

DVGW German Technical and Scientific Association for Gas and Water
DVGW Deutscher Verein des Gas- und Wasserfaches e.V.
contact: Dr. Wolfgang K. Walter
walter[@]dvgw.de
www.dvgw.de

Imprint

www.water-innovation-circle.eu is a website of WIC, Water Innovation Circle, and is administrated by:

DVGW Deutscher Verein des Gas- und Wasserfaches e.V. - Technisch-wissenschaftlicher Verein -
Josef-Wirmer-Straße 1-3, D-53123 Bonn
Phone: +49 228 91 88-5, Fax: +49 228 91 88-990, E-Mail: infonospam-dvgw.de

Authorised Representatives: Board of Directors Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Gerald Linke (Chairman), Alexandra Ernst (CFO)
Commercial Register: Amtsgericht Bonn VR 6933
VAT Identification No.: DE 114341970

Chief Editor (§ 55 Abs. 2 RStV): Dr. Susanne Hinz, Josef-Wirmer-Straße 1-3, D-53123 Bonn
Contact: walternospam-dvgw.de
Data protection: DVGW and WIC complies with the Federal Data Protection Act.

water-innovation-circle.eu is friendly powered by TYPO3. Design and production: mehrwert intermediale Kommunikation, Cologne

In case of technical problems please contact webmaster(at)dvgw.de

WIC News

Treffen des DVGW-DWA Water Innovation Circle (WIC) – Die Stellung der Wasserforschung im neuen BMBF Forschungsrahmenprogramm FONA³

Am 28. Juli 2015 fand in Hennef das letzte Arbeitstreffen des DVGW-DWA Water Innovation Circle WIC vor der Sommerpause statt. In dem um Gäste aus dem wissenschaftlichen Bereich, aus der Praxis der Wasserversorgung, aus den Verbänden und aus dem BMBF erweitertem Kreis wurde einerseits Fazit gezogen aus der interessanten und erfolgreichen Diskussion von Vertretern des WIC mit Frau Bundesministerin Prof. Dr. Wanka im Rahmen der Messe Wasser Berlin März 2015. Andererseits wurden die Perspektiven vor allem für eine an der Praxis orientierten Wasserforschung im Rahmen des neuen BMBF Forschungsrahmenprogrammes FONA³ erörtert.

Foto: Die Teilnehmer des WIC-Treffens (v. l. n. r.): Dr. Friedrich Hetzel (DWA, Hennef), Prof. Dr. Thomas Grünebaum (Ruhrverband, Essen), Prof. Dr. Matthias Barjenbruch (TU Berlin), Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz Rosenwinkel (Leibniz Universität Hannover), Dr. Josef Klinger (TZW, Karlsruhe), Dr. Christoph Donner (RWW, Mülheim), Prof. Dr. Harald Horn (KIT und EBI Karlsruhe), Dr. Helmut Löwe (BMBF), Frank Gröschl (DVGW), Sabine Thaler (DWA, Hennef), Dr. Wolfgang K. Walter (DVGW), Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Günthert (Universität der Bundeswehr München), Prof. Dr. Mathias Ernst (TU Hamburg-Harburg), Dr. David Schwesig (IWW, Mülheim); Copyright: DWA

DVGW und DWA übergeben Forschungsmemorandum an Bundesforschungsministerin Prof. Dr. Johanna Wanka

Der Präsident der Deutschen Vereinigung für Wasserwirtschaft, Abwasser und Abfall (DWA) und der Vizepräsident Wasser des Deutschen Vereins des Gas- und Wasserfaches (DVGW), Otto Schaaf und Dr. Dirk Waider, haben am 26. März 2015 im Rahmen der Fachmesse „Wasser Berlin International“ ein gemeinsames Forschungsmemorandum an Bundesforschungsministerin Prof. Dr. Johanna Wanka übergeben. In seinen drei Themenfeldern „Stoffe“, „Systeme“ und „Technologien“ orientiert es sich an den fachlichen Herausforderungen von DWA und DVGW und zeigt den notwendigen Forschungsbedarf aus Sicht der wasserwirtschaftlichen Praxis auf.

Foto: DVGW-Vizepräsident Wasser Dr. Dirk Waider (l.) und DWA-Präsident Otto Schaaf übergeben das Forschungsmemorandum während der WASSER BERLIN INTERNATIONAL an die Bundesministerin für Bildung und Forschung, Prof. Dr. Johanna Wanka. Bildquelle: Tom Maelsa

Kick-Off Treffen des DWA-DVGW Water Innovation Circle WIC

Am 29.1.2015 fand in Bonn das erste operative Treffen des neu eingerichteten Water Innovation Circle WIC statt. Ziel des Treffens war ein Gedankenaustausch über die Forschungsnotwendigkeit und über Forschungsthemenfelder in der Wasserwirtschaft. Als Innovations- und Austauschplattform soll der Water Innovation Circle zukünftig den Forschungsbedarf aus der Praxis abbilden und den Transfer der Forschungsergebnisse in die Praxis fördern.

Foto (v.l.): Dr. Wolfgang K. Walter, DVGW Bonn, Dr. Gudrun Abbt-Braun, DVGW Forschungsstelle am Engler-Bunte-Institut in Karlsruhe, Dr. Josef Klinger, Geschäftsführer DVGW-Technologiezentrum Wasser, Sabine Thaler, Leiterin der DWA Stabsstelle Forschung und Innovation, Dr. Friedrich Hetzel, DWA Abteilungsleiter Wasser- und Abfallwirtschaft, Prof. Dr. Thomas Grünebaum, Leiter Geschäftsbereich „Abwasser – Zentrale Planung, Bau und Umwelt“ des Ruhrverbands in Essen, Frank Gröschl, Bereichsleiter DVGW Forschung und Beteiligungsmanagement; Copyright: DVGW, Uwe Hetzel

DVGW und DWA unterzeichnen Forschungskooperation

Die Präsidenten des Deutschen Vereins des Gas- und Wasserfaches (DVGW) und der Deutschen Vereinigung für Wasserwirtschaft, Abwasser und Abfall (DWA), Dietmar Bückemeyer und Otto Schaaf, haben am 10. Dezember 2014 in Köln ein Memorandum of Understanding unterzeichnet. Ziel der Grundsatzvereinbarung, die auch der DVGW-Vorstandsvorsitzende Prof. Dr. Gerald Linke und DWA-Bundesgeschäftsführer Johannes Lohaus mitunterzeichneten, ist die Intensivierung der Zusammenarbeit zwischen DVGW und DWA auf dem Gebiet der Wasserforschung. Dazu werden beide Vereine den Water Innovation Circle (WIC) einrichten. Als nationale und internationale Innovations- und Austauschplattform soll dieser Arbeitskreis den Forschungsbedarf aus der Praxis abbilden und den Transfer der Forschungsergebnisse in die Praxis fördern.

Foto: DVGW-Vorstandsvorsitzender Prof. Dr. Gerald Linke, DVGW-Präsident Dietmar Bückemeyer, DWA-Präsident Otto Schaaf, DWA-Bundesgeschäftsführer Johannes Lohaus (v.l.n.r.). Foto: Stadtentwässerungsbetriebe Köln (StEB Köln)

Kurzdarstellung

Im Interesse der gesamten Wasserwirtschaft haben die Deutsche Vereinigung für Wasserwirtschaft, Abwasser und Abfall e.V., kurz DWA, und der Deutsche Verein des Gas- und Wasserfaches e.V., kurz DVGW, ihre jeweiligen Kompetenzen in Bezug auf Forschung und technisch-wissenschaftliches Arbeiten gebündelt und dafür den Water Innovation Circle WIC ins Leben gerufen. DWA und DVGW decken mit ihren Arbeitsfeldern den gesamten Wasserkreislauf ab. Die zentrale Kompetenz von DWA und DVGW liegt in der Vernetzung von Forschung, Wissenschaft und Praxis. Im Mittelpunkt stehen dabei die Ingenieurwissenschaften, durch die im Austausch mit andern Fachrichtungen technische Lösungsansätze geschaffen werden.

Für eine zielgerichtete Forschung, eine Umsetzung der Forschungsergebnisse und eine nachhaltige Verankerung in der Praxis ist der Forschungstransfer von entscheidender Bedeutung. Die besondere Stärke von DWA und DVGW ist die Bündelung der in Deutschland entlang des Wasserkreislaufes wirkenden Akteure wie z.B. Wasserversorgungsunternehmen und Entsorgungsbetriebe, Umweltverwaltungen, Hersteller und Dienstleister, Ingenieurbüros und vor allem auch Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen. Die satzungsgemäßen Aufgaben von DWA und DVGW auf dem Gebiet von Normung und technischer Regelsetzung in Verbindung mit Bildung und Ausbildung sind eine optimale Grundlage, um den Austausch von Wissenschaft und Praxis und einen zielgerichteten Forschungstransfer in die gesamte Branche zu gewährleisten.

Hintergrund

Die deutsche Wasserwirtschaft ist ständig mit neuen Herausforderungen konfrontiert. Dies gilt für den gesamten Wasserkreislauf. Entwicklungen und Effekte wie demographische Veränderungen und klimatische Variabilität können diese Herausforderungen zusätzlich verstärken. Damit das hohe Niveau in diesem existenziellen Bereich gehalten werden kann, ist eine konsequente und auf die Zukunft gerichtete praxisorientierte Forschung und Entwicklung dringend notwendig. Sie sichert Innovation und muss auf Nachhaltigkeit ausgerichtet sein, um den Herausforderungen der Zukunft adäquat begegnen zu können.

Ziele

Der Water Innovation Circle WIC soll einerseits den Forschungsbedarf aus der Praxis abbilden und andererseits den Transfer der Forschungsergebnisse in die Praxis befördern. Als Kernziele sind zu nennen:

  • programmatische und inhaltliche Identifizierung, Definition und Strukturierung des Forschungs- und Innovationsbedarfes,
  • Forschungstransfer innerhalb der Wasserwirtschaft,
  • Information und Vernetzung aller beteiligten Akteure.

Download

Kontakt

DWA Deutsche Vereinigung für Wasserwirtschaft, Abwasser und Abfall e.V.
Kontakt: Sabine Thaler
thaler[@]dwa.de
www.dwa.de

DVGW Deutscher Verein des Gas- und Wasserfaches e.V.
Kontakt: Dr. Wolfgang K. Walter
walter[@]dvgw.de
www.dvgw.de

Impressum

www.water-innovation-circle.de ist eine Webseite des WIC, Water Innovation Circle, und wird administriert vom:

DVGW
Deutscher Verein des Gas- und Wasserfaches e.V.- Technisch-wissenschaftlicher Verein -
Josef-Wirmer-Straße 1-3
53123 Bonn
Tel.: +49 228 91 88-5
Fax: +49 228 91 88-990
E-Mail: info(at)dvgw.de (E-Mail-Formular)

Web: www.dvgw.de  

Vertretungsberechtigt: Vorstand des DVGW Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Gerald Linke (Vorsitzender), Alexandra Ernst (Kaufmännischer Vorstand)
Handelsregister: Amtsgericht Bonn VR 6933
Umsatzsteuer-Identifikations-Nr.: DE114341970
 
Verantwortliche gemäß § 55 Abs. 2 RStV:
Dr. Susanne Hinz
Josef-Wirmer-Straße 1-3
53123 Bonn  

Gestaltung

mehrwert intermediale kommunikation GmbH, Köln
This website is friendly powered by TYPO3